13 January 2008 - leave it in His hands

a weekend so ironically thick with sentiments. was reading EE- why should i want anything more than to do God's will and serve Him... she went on to quote Hannah Smith, "Only see to it that your will is in God's hands, that your inward self is abandoned to His working, that your choice, your decision, is on His side; and there leave it. Your surging emotions, like a tossing vessel at anchor, which by degrees yields to the steady pull of the cable, finding themselves attached to the mighty power of God by the choice of your will, must inevitably come into captivity, and give their allegiance to Him"
ahh google video..."Here we are now with the desperate youth and the pain,
We're awakening...Last week found me living for nothing but deadlines, With my dead beat sky but, this town doesn't look the same tonight These dreams started singing to me out of nowhere And in all my life I don't know if I've ever felt so alive, alive. . .I want to live like I know what I'm leaving I want to know that my heart's still beating, Is beating, Is beating..." 'awakening', from the switchfoot boys.


12 January 2008 - the glorious road

some roads are near impossible to navigate, even with four wheel drive. there can be confusion, why do things have to be like this. there can also be the flip side, incredulity,- but why... why. the same questioning that at the beginning rings empty can in the end be echoed but in awe- why would You love me in such a way as to take up this whole journey and my misintentions and take me in, as a child who was on his own, yet now belongs.
in both cases, if it was understood, it wouldn't be _glorious_.

11 January 2008 - the spineliest spine and its treadmarks

studied Jesus' words with others on an eye for an eye and the like, you know, the doormat passage. and it was interesting to understand how people have different perceptions of what a doormat is. one equated it to being spineless. whereas i have always just thought it entails being stepped on. so the question was raised (ok, by me) was Jesus a doormat? to which one classic answer was- He has characteristics of doormat, but He's not a doormat. if it is a question of standing up for injustice, clearly He did. i think so often for us it becomes a matter of pride. and in the end, He humbly laid down, didn't fight, and did what we couldn't. the greatest injustice of all time, but the spineliest spine ever. walking that painful extra mile with such joy set before Him. allowing the prospect of such good news to be powerfully seen in all the earth.

:: top

:: archives

hosted by DiaryLand.com